A very summery Alder Shirtdress

comments 23
dresses / Grainline / Sewing / Sewing Patterns

Finally, completed sewing posts!

Alder Shirtdress - Blue Floral King-Size_Homer_Promo_Picture_2

Who wore it better?

I had been lusting over Grainline Studio’s Alder Shirtdress pattern since Jen was posting sneaky peaks on instagram ages ago.  I love a good sleeveless shirtdress and this dress was right up my alley.  I’ve already made two Alders now, and I’ve cut out two more for sewing.  So I hope you’re all ready for a lot of Alders on this blog.

Pattern: Alder Shirtdress by Grainline Studio.

Version: view A.

Size: 0

Fabric: 100% rayon with really lovely drape.  It’s a print that I never would’ve thought I’d like, but here we are and I love it. Even if it does look uncannily like Homer’s muumuu.

Thoughts: I think ideally I need to tweak the armholes a bit because they reeeeaaally accentuate my armpit flab.  And I really struggle with massive shoulders and I feel like this dress just really makes them somehow look even larger.  Also I do not understand the darts at all because they hit about 3cm below my bust so they’re sort of adding volume to nowhere.  I don’t know whether I just have extremely perky bust or if I completely marked them and sewn them wrong, but it seems weird.

With that said, this dress is so comfortable that none of the negatives bother me at all.  I don’t know, when I wear it I feel like it’s very flattering and I feel fantastic and that’s really the most important thing right?  I really only noticed the massive shoulder problem from looking at these photos.

Miscellaneous construction details: This was a quick sew for me.  I decided to overlock and turn under the armholes instead of using bias tape or any other binding.  I’ve noticed that owning an overlocker has really ruined me for tedious tasks.  I spent all my time hating life while pinning bias binding on my other Alder that I decided to just overlock and turn under.  I am happy with the finish, but I feel like I’m not sewing ‘right’.

I also chopped off about 2cm off the length of the dress.  I feel like the bottom shots make it look kind of naaaughty like I’m seriously just wearing a long shirt, but honestly my legs are actually as short as heck and the dress hits comfortably  just above knee.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Overall I really do love this pattern to death.  When summer comes (it is actually dead in the middle of Winter where I live) I will just be living in Alders.

23 Comments

  1. That print and style is so cute on you!! Had you not mentioned those armpits/shoulders/darts problems I honestly wouldn’t have noticed, so anybody in the street would also think it looks fab!! :)

    • Thank you so much :). I think it probably looks fine too. I am just self conscious about my shoulders, so I think it doesn’t matter what I sew I’ll always think they’re a problem!

  2. Beautiful! I really love the floral too, it has a vintage feel. The colors are great on you as well! Looks so comfy and cool and perfect for a summer party. This is honestly a pattern I would have over looked if it hadn’t been for your version!

  3. Brenda says

    I love your version! The print is fantastic.

    The darts also fall below my bust, it’s strange. They don’t affect the overall look though so I don’t mind. I’ll probably adjust them in my next one.

    • Thank you :). Yeah the darts don’t bother me… but I wonder because of how loose fitting it is if it really even needs darts. For me I might be able to get way with just getting rid of them because of a small bust.

  4. You definitely wear it better. Love the Homer pic though. Great job on the dress. And bonus points for sewing ahead of the season. Much smarter than to finish it too late and have to wait a whole year to wear it.

    • Thank you! Glad to know I look better than Homer lol! And I wasn’t being super organised lol… I think I was just hoping summer would hurry up and come if I sew summer clothes!

  5. This is gorgeous! I really wouldn’t have noticed any of your fit issues if you hadn’t mentioned them. Sewing has introduced me to the fact that I have a low slung bust, or at least a really long body upon which my boobs may or may not be placed at a normal height. Anyway, point being, maybe I wouldn’t have to adjust the darts on this pattern.

    • Thank you very much! Sewing has introduced me to a lot of weird bits about my body too lol! I am thinking unless you have quite a large bust, you can probably do without the darts. They actually add nothing to my dress at all because it’s so loose fitting.

  6. I love this! You look amazing and that pattern is gorge. I have severe fabric envy!! I think you may have tempted me to download the pattern. :)

    • Get it! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed! Thank you very much :). Glad to know this fabric incites fabric envy… I really was worried about how muumuu it was before!

  7. I wish I had the patience to sew! You look gorgeous and very summery! I think you and Homer definitely rock the pattern! :p

    • Thank you very much :). Surprisingly I ended up taking sewing because it takes the least amount of patience. Knitting/crocheting/every other craft out there ever = tooooo much effort lol.

  8. Pingback: A Nautical Alder | Oh, She Dabbles

  9. neoknits says

    So cute! I don’t think this makes you look like you have large shoulders at all! I think I need to sew one of these up before the summer is over.

  10. Very cute! I like the print a lot. So funny the “Who wore it better” with Homer. The dress is nice & summery.

  11. Pingback: The Grainline Alder Shirtdress, it’s more ‘me’ | Sew Busy Lizzy

Tell me what you think!

