Still cleaning like crazy

comments 6
Beauty / Life / makeup

Ugh work has been so super, super stressful lately.  Home life isn’t much better with family drama, so it’s a rock and a hard place for me these days.
Because of this, I haven’t been sewing much.  When I sew, I think a lot, and it makes me dwell on a lot of unhappiness and it often just makes me feel worse.  So I’ve just been cleaning a lot again because I find cleaning cathartic.
I’m selling a lot of what I’ve cleaned out at the Suitcase Rummage for moving out.

sr1 sr2
sr4 sr3

I’ve changed a lot in the past few years.  I used to gravitate towards cutesy Japanese things but now I realised I like them, but I don’t want to deck my whole house out in it.  I’m more into a minimalist style these days.  Same with clothes and fabric prints – I’m just not into anything outside of basic shapes and colours.  I’ve hoarded some of this gorgeous stuff for the past few years and I’ve decided it just needs to go to a more loving home and put into better use than what I’ve been doing.

 

IMG_20140629_143714 IMG_20140629_140355
IMG_20140618_151236 IMG_20140615_132841

In some happier pictures from my Instagram:

1.  I considered selling my Snoopy tees but I just couldn’t do it.  I love Snoopy too much!  I sleep in a lot of tank tops, so I’ve been refashioning these tees into sleeping tanks.

2. Sunday is now Macaron Sunday where my partner and I try three new flavours of macaron from Passion Tree.

3. I bought these lip/cheek tints a few weeks ago and I’m loving them.  The two Skinfood Tomato Jelly Tints leave a fresh flush on my cheeks but the two shades (berry and cherry) are very similar when on, so there’s no point owning both.  They also don’t do great as lip tints.  The Aritaum Lollipop Tint is fantastic as both, and not as purple as the packaging suggests.  Holika Holika’s Aqua Petit Jelly CC tintbar is a great tinted lipbalm type product.

4. This mini dollhouse made me swoon.  I want my house to look like this.

 

 

6 Comments

  1. So, yes to paring down possessions. And I still have a Snoopy pencil case from years ago. So, yeah, keep some, toss some. With a cleaner space, you might sew more enjoyably:-)

  2. I think it’s all part of growing up. There are a lot of cutesy bags and clothes that I admit are super cute, but I no longer want them for myself anymore. I think my style has mature over the years.

    Cleaning and organizing are totally zen feeling. And it makes me feel accomplished. Haha.

  3. I understand the cleaning bit as I when stressed become a whirlwind, a frenzy of cleaning and tidying leaves everyone else asking, “where did you put my….?”
    I used to sew a lot and your picture of the blue polka dot shirt made me smile, remembering a similar one I loved so much it was frayed before I threw it away.

    • I’m aiming to make clothes I want to wear over and over until they fray! That would be fantastic :).

Tell me what you think!

