Cleaning out all my makeup

comments 12
Beauty / makeup

It’s June and I’m moving at the end of the year and getting married next May (which includes sewing my dress and DIY-ing all my invitations and decorations).

PANIC.

So I thought I’d start extra early on cleaning stuff out for easier moving later, starting with my makeup.  I have makeup that is years old which needs to go.  The problem is I always get emotional with my stuff, especially the stuff with cute packaging, so it’s tough to throw out.  I have found recently though that if I take a photo of it before I throw it out, I’m more OK with it, so I thought I’d blog post my makeup before I throw it out.  I also sorted the makeup into stuff I love, ‘meh’, or ‘blargh’ to help me sort out what needed to go.

Most of this stuff is gone now actually and I’ve bought new stuff to replace some of it, I’ll show it off another day.

Face

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love:

Everyday Minerals Base in ‘Medium Beige Neutral’ –  I actually use this almost everyday but somehow it’s lasted me about 3 years.  They don’t even make this stuff anymore, so I won’t talk about liking it.

Palgangtong Theatrical Powder – Really good budget loose powder for oily days.

Etude House Precious Bright Fit BB cream in ‘Sand Beige’  – Medium coverage BB cream, great for bad skin days.

Stila Stay All Day 10 in 1 HD Beauty Balm – Light coverage BB cream, great for good skin days.  I usually use this mixed with the Etude House BB.

Hourglass No.28 Primer Serum – This thing has ruined me for cheaper primers.  Leaves skin so silky smooth.

Meh:

Maybelline Super Stay Concealer – too drying but good for the price.

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer – this doesn’t really conceal but good for the price.

Sana Pore Putty BB Cream ‘Moist Type” – when worn alone it leaves a gorgeous deathly pallor over the face.  Hot.  But it is a surprisingly good primer, so ‘meh’.

Blargh:

Etude House Face Conditioning Cream – I don’t get along with this even though the rest of the internet seems to like it.  Makes my face look like an oil slick.

Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pink Transformer – I don’t understand this product, it does literally nothing.

Bourjois Flower Perfection Primer – too drying and did nothing for makeup longevity.

 

Eyes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Love:

NYX brow powder in ‘Blonde’ –  I wouldn’t actually put this on any blonde person, it’s quite dark.  Apart from that I use this stuff daily.

Heroine Make “Impact Frame” mascara – My favourite ‘night out’ mascara.  Very black and very voluminous.  The brush is unwieldy though.

Heroine Make “Volume and Curl” mascara – My favourite day time mascara, does exactly what it advertises.

Makemania Data eyeliners – Great pigment and staying power.

Inglot Eyeshadow – They don’t make this anymore either, but it was a great jawline contour.

Meh:

Shiseido Integrate Accent Eyes eyeshadow in ‘BR730’ – I so rarely use eyeshadow that it’s not really fair for me to review this stuff.

Kate Deep Trap Eyes eyeshadow in ‘BR-2’ – These eyeshadow names are ridiculous.  Same as above.

Kate Gradical Eyes eyeshadow in ‘BR-3’ – Same as above again.

Maybelline colour tattoo in ‘Taupe’ – I don’t play well with cream shadows, so I could never get this to look good on me, but the colour payoff is great.

FITS Love Switch Pink Brown eyeliner – I love the colour but the application isn’t buttery smooth :(.

Daiso Eyebrow Powder – It’s surprisingly not too bad for $2.80, but you get what you pay for.

Heroine Make Smooth liquid eyeliner – Really, really fine-tipped brush which isn’t forgiving on a shaky day.  Formula also bleeds a tiny bit.

Sana Maiko-Han liquid eyeliner – Opposite of the Heroine make one – good brush but formula is a tad on the sheer side.

Blargh:

MSH Love Eyescream eyeliner – smudge city, and not in a good way.

Za Perfect Action mascara – makes my eyelashes flop.  It’s a shame because I love Za’s Killer Volume mascara.

 

Cheeks

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Love:

Tony Moly Water Jelly Tint in ‘Pomegranate’ – I also used to have ‘Strawberry’ which I loved more.  I think they’ve discontinued this which is awful, I love this stuff.  Left me looking really healthy.

Etude House Water Color blusher  in ‘Strawberry Pink’– It’s a creamy, milky gel with nice colour payoff.  Very sweet looking.

Meh:

Bourjois Baked Blush in ’48 Cendre de Rose Brune’ – It’s ok, but I’m not a fan of powder blush so I’m being biased here.  I probably just butchered the French there too, sorry about that.

Etude House Nymph Aura Jelly Tint blusher in ‘No.1’  – Not pigmented enough for my dark skin, but left a nice dewy finish on the cheeks.

Blargh:

Face Shop Jelly Pong Pong  – Really cute packaging but not enough pigment and the stay time was awful.  Very dry formula too for blush sticks.

 

Bronzers/Face Contour powders

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALove:

Sleek Face Contour Kit in ‘Medium’ – Love the contouring powder but the highlight is a bit too dramatic.

Canmake Shading Powder – Love this contouring powder too.  Lighter and more natural than the Sleek one.

Meh:

The Balm ‘Bahama Mama’ Bronzer – Very normal matte bronzer.  Leaves me looking a little muddy.

 

Lips

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Love:

Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm in ‘Hibiscus’ – my absolute favourite tinted balm.

Bourjois Colour Boost Lip Crayons – I have the red and fuschia, both gorgeous on a night out.

Meh:

Kit Lip Glaze in ‘Big Night Out’ – Meh staying time, but looks good when it’s on.

Maybelline Tinted Baby Lips in ‘Lolita’ – This colour is not for cool toned skin.  Good formula but made me look dull.

Blargh:

Rilakkuma Lip Balm – I hate to put Rilakkuma in the ‘blargh’ column but this lip balm just isn’t good.

Tony Moly Petite Bunny Gloss Bars – Adorable but terrible stay time and had a weird texture on the lips.

 

Maybe it’s because I’m turning 25 two weeks, but I’ve never really reflected on my makeup before.  I used to just buy whatever looked good without thinking about whether I’ll use it or not or even thinking about personal style.  I’ve now realised that I pretty much never wear eyeshadow, not even on night outs so there is no use buying more eyeshadow.  I do wear a ton of eyeliner though.  I rarely wear pigmented lip items either because it’s just impossible to eat with it on, and I am all for practicality.  I do usually use up all my face stuff and cheek tints.  I guess the point is if anyone sees me at a shop with eyeshadow in hand, knock it out of my hand and don’t let me buy it.  I’ll probably wear it once tops.

 

 

 

12 Comments

  1. Fiona says

    I love seeing other people’s make up collection so I really enjoyed this post, especially with so much cute packaging. I’ve tried a bunch of stuff that you have up there and I’m interested in trying out the Hourglass primer and Burt’s Bees lip balm. I was also really into the pretty packaging of Japanese make up for a time and got suckered into buying that Kate gradical eyes palette in green even though I rarely wear eye shadow. There’s a lot of stuff from my own collection that I want to get rid of, mostly impulse buys that didn’t suit me, but I feel wasteful tossing out perfectly usable make up. =/

    • Fiona says

      Forgot to ask, which ones did you end up throwing out? Everything in the “Blargh” list?

      • Don’t try anything Hourglass unless you’re willing to lay down big money forever for their stuff!

        I used to be all about impulse buying makeup too but yep, I’ve grown up now lol. I felt like you too, a lot of it was usable but then I thought I don’t know if it is anymore after 3 years or so, took the plunge and just binned it. Most important thing is to reflect and try not to make the same impulse buys again in the future.

        I ended up throwing out:
        – Etude House Face conditioning cream
        – Maybelline Baby Skin Transformer
        – Maybelline Fit Me concealer
        – Sana BB Moist
        – Bourjois Flower primer
        – Pretty much all the eyeshadows except Kate Deep Eyes
        – Za mascara
        – Kept all the eyeliners because I do use them everyday
        – Jelly pong pong blushes
        – Nymph aura blush
        – Bourjois blush
        – Petite bunny gloss bars
        – Maybelline baby lips

        It was a pretty intense cull! But my aim was to put all my makeup into one bag. I did this actually a week ago and you know what? I haven’t missed a single thing I threw out.

    • YES and I totally bought it because of his adorable face! He is also the only ‘blargh ‘product I didn’t throw out because well.. how could I?

  2. I love seeing people’s make-up stashes too! Whenever I feel like I ‘need’ more make-up, I do a big clear out of my make-up drawer (and I don’t have heaps of stuff, honestly!). Because I rarely wear full make-up, the clear out reminds me of things I’d forgotten I have or stuff I hated and need to pass on/throw out. I love eyeliners too! Enjoy the wedding planning :)

    • I love how everyone has different strategies for kerbing shopping cravings! See what you do doesn’t work for me! The clear out just makes me go ohhh I should get more of this. I always see what i’m missing instead of what I’ve got :(.

  3. i find it really difficult to organise my makeup. i don’t know whether there’s too many things and too little space or that i just can’t seem to let go of products i know i haven’t used in ages- because i might need it someday.

    that’s so exciting that you’re making your own wedding dress! you must share it!

    • I will! My partner reads my blog so I can’t share the full thing until after the wedding though :(.

      I never believe in ‘I might need it someday’ but sometimes because of that, I think i’m too ruthless with cleaning!

  4. I’m moving in the next couple of months and am trying to have a bit of an advance clear out at the moment. So far I’ve succeeded in rereading about fifty old magazines and putting the stuff I liked from them on pinterest.

    Would you mind if I borrowed this idea for a blog post, as I think it’s really interesting.

    • Oooh I’ve just been tearing the stuff out of old magazines but pinning them would be a good idea too!

      I don’t mind if you blogged about this at all, in fact I love looking at people cleaning stuff out. It’s weird I know lol!

      • Haha! I’m the same. I’ve wondered if I”d suit a job as one of those people who help hoarders have a clear out.

Tell me what you think!

