A Wardrobe Planning Epiphany for a Casual Girl

comments 8
Wardrobe planning

One of my 2014 informal resolutions is to get my wardrobe under control.  It’s out of control with clothes that I don’t seem to often wear, even though the amount of clothes I have is technically quite small.  In other words, I have pretty much been wearing the same two pieces of clothing every day for the past month (stripe shirt, skinny jeans, repeat).

I’m not optimistic because I’ve had this resolution for the past 3 years.  It’s not for lack of trying – it’s not like my yearly resolution to “exercise more” but I won’t get off my lazy ass to do it.  I’ve actively cleaned out my wardrobe tons of times, made millions of Pinterest boards for my style and tried only to buy clothing that was my style.  Yet I seem to fall into the same trap of having clothes I don’t wear.

Anyway I recently had a few epiphanies.

1. I am not as familiar with my own style as I think

“Well put that salmon in a freezer bag and slap me silly, how is this even possible?” I thought.  I love clothes and reading magazines and following model blogs and instagrams.  How could I possibly not know what I would like to wear?  Well…

066 053

I don’t seem to have learnt that things may look great on other people but look dumb on me. The first picture is the best example – I’ve bookmarked this as something I like, and yet I have never been able to wear a denim jacket and not look ridiculous. The second picture is a more extreme example. I love Saya Ichikawa and her demure style but I am not her, and yet I seem to forget that sometimes.  I love that bowler hat on her but I would look awful in it.  The lesson here is stuff that looks good to me on other people doesn’t necessarily look good on my body.

2. My style is basic/casual which is boring right?

Look at this:

067 015
097 019

How basic are most of these pieces? From the first picture there’s a cream sweater + white skirt combo, second picture a striped tee with a white midi skirt.  When viewed alone each of these pieces look as boring as flip.  I never thought about the bigger picture with coordination, and I always thought my love for basic clothes was ‘boring’, and tried to spice it up with more colour/prints/etc which weren’t really my style.

3. I think basics are not worth buying/sewing

I don’t mean this in a bad way.  I just mean every time I take the effort to sew or shop, I never think the occasion justifies buying ‘just’ a black t-shirt.  I also always think I have more basics in my wardrobe than I really do.  This means I’ve got a ton of statement pieces in my wardrobe, and nil basics to coordinate.

What to do:

I haven’t figured it all out yet, but here’s what I’m aiming for:

  • Making a definitive list of what basic pieces I feel I want to plan my sewing.
  • Creating a colour palette which I know I’d feel comfortable in (and be totally ok with it if I only choose to have black, white, and grey)
  • Eventually aim for a wardrobe where my basic pieces way outnumber my statement pieces.

I hope to be able to make a more concrete plan in the future.  The only thing I’ll admit I’m scared of is how this will affect my blog.  A basic skirt/tshirt just ain’t much to blog about you know?  Because of this I hope to start blogging about more than just my sewing on my blog I hope that’s OK with everyone.  Please let me know if you have any suggestions or if there’s anything you want me to blog about, I’ll see what I can do.

Side note: scans are from aR magazine (March 2014), mina (March 2014) and Sweet (Feb 2014).

8 Comments

  1. Fiona says

    I’m with you here – I always reach for the same basic pieces every weekend: skinny jeans and some kind of V-neck or T-shirt. (I wear scrubs to work so I don’t get to play dress up at all on weekdays, booo!) I like the shirt + skirt combo in the middle pictures though I don’t think that look works on me. I’d love to follow your “journey” towards figuring out your wardrobe and definitely won’t mind if you blog about other topics!

  2. I’m so glad to hear you can relate to my post! I’ve always wondered if it was just me :). I’ll definitely write more about my quest for the perfect wardrobe then!

  3. I agree with you completely, especially on point three. I make a ton of stuff but every morning I end up in black trousers, striped top and head off to work. I absolutely hate making basics but I’m trying to force myself to go there and just do it. Maybe it’ll work but maybe I’ll prove myself right and be able to justify buying basics without the guilt. You should start a sew along movement, back to basics perhaps? I bet loads of people feel the same way.

    • I’m so glad to hear you can relate! I would love to do a sew along actually, that’s a fantastic idea! I don’t have the internet clout for it though lol, but maybe I can throw something together. Thank you so much for reblogging my post too :).

  4. Reblogged this on Sew Smitten and commented:
    I really enjoyed this post from tifftoffee. Personal style and getting control of one’s wardrobe. Back to Basics, a sewing revolution/revelation!

Tell me what you think!

