Grainline Archers – Polka Dot and Simple White

comments 4
completed / Grainline / Sewing / shirt

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s Archer Appreciation month apparently!  This is great because Archer is one of my absolute favourite patterns ever.  I’ve made two to date, one of which was actually in the month of December, so it’s not cheating.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is my ‘muslin’ Archer made from a silk/cotton blend that was far too stiff for a loose shirt like Archer.  It worked well for my Chardon skirt but not so well for this shirt.  I’ve found that I can wear it to slightly casual house parties which still call for some dressing up, which isn’t a thing I really attend very often.

I also had no idea what I was doing sewing this shirt the first time.  I have always loved the look of a button up shirt but because of my size I don’t own many.  Most shirts in shops come down to my knees!  Because of this I struggled with a lot of small details like plackets, button bands, back pleat etc.  Even with the sew along instructions I was often really lost.  It all changed when I recently bought a RTW Topshop button up shirt, and being able to see the details makes making a shirt so much easier.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This one is made from an off-white silky rayon and I love it so much.  I wear it everywhere – work, casual, everything.  I’ve always wanted a white button up shirt but found them too see-through or too long, so I’m beyond happy that I can make a white shirt for myself.  This time I did shorten the sleeves by a good 3cm or so, but that’s the only modification I’ve had to make.

All in all, I love my Archers sooo much.  I am already planning my next one in green plaid.

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. These both look great – I do like the polka dots, too bad about the stiffness. Maybe call it “crisp” instead, see if that helps?

    • It’s a great pattern! A bit hard to get your head around it at first, but you get an awesome sense of accomplishment after you finish!

Tell me what you think!

