Sewing a Work Wardrobe – Deer and Doe Airelle Blouse

comments 9
blouse / completed / Deer and Doe / Wardrobe planning
 I’ve been working for about 5 months now and I just noticed that I don’t have much of a work wardrobe.  I came home one day and said to my mum ‘I need more skirts… do you have any old skirts?’ and she said ‘why don’t you make one?’.  That was a good question, why haven’t I been sewing my own work wardrobe?  I spend 5 days of my week at work and 2 outside of it, so I should be sewing more work clothes than play clothes!
Hence I made myself an Airelle Blouse by Deer and Doe:
Grey Airelle - Front
 Sorry about our curtains.  They’re a relic from the 80’s and haven’t been changed since the house was built.  They’re so awful.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This is a modified version of the Deer and Doe ‘Airelle’ Blouse.  I chopped off the sleeves to comply with my workplace’s ‘bare beneath the elbows’ policy and added a faux placket.  This is a size 36 with no modifications and it fits pretty well.  The only issue I have is for some reason shirts have a tendency to ‘slide forward’ on me, and the shoulders don’t sit right after I move around.  I don’t know how to explain this,  all I know is I’m often shifting my shirt so that the shoulders sit where they should.
I also should have taken the sleeves in with a cuff or at least decreased the width of the sleeves, because they are sort of winging out aren’t they?  Like I’m about to take flight or something.
Grey Airelle Blouse by Deer and Doe
I don’t think I need to talk anymore about Deer and Doe patterns.  Our love is tight, everyone knows it.  I think I own 4 of their patterns now and plan on buying more.
I’ve also been planning.  I know, gone are the days (apparently) when I make a thing and go ‘this… doesn’t go with anything in my wardrobe’.  I’ve been using Polyvore to make sets of things I already own and what would go with them.  I’m also trying to pick items that I already own the pattern for, like…
Work Inspiration
Named’s Reese wrap skirt for a skirt like this.
Work Inspired 2
Shirtless version of my boatneck t-shirt for this top.
And I don’t own By Hand London’s Victoria Blazer… yet.  It’s only a matter of time.

Work Inspired

Colette’s Hawthorn blouse for this top, with the front placket removed.

I’ve found that I have more issues with finding suitable patterns for work appropriate bottoms than tops though.  I’ve found that almost every top in a neutral black/white-ish colour works pretty well.

 

9 Comments

  1. I know what you mean about shirts sliding forward! Shirts and tees tend to slide backwards on me when I move around, I think it’s because I have thick shoulders. I like your version of the blouse better than the original!

    • Thanks Rui :). And maybe it is because of thick shoulders! I’ve always wondered, I’ve got big shoulders too due to tennis!

    • 23fHOLA BUEN DIA!!!! LA VERDAD NUNCA ME IMAGINÉ QUE SU EMPRESA DE LA MANTEQUILLA SE HIZO POR AYUDAR WOA!! FELICIDADES POR ESO HA CRECIDO COMO LO HA HECHO, YO TENGO 5 AÑOS COMPRANDO SU MANTEQUILLA PORQUE TENGO MI PEQUEÑO NEGOCIO DE PASTELERIA CASERA, PERO NO MUCHA GENTE ME CONOCE , ASI QUE NO VENDO MUCHO Y MI SUEÑO SERÍA PODER PONER UNA PASTELERIA EN GRANDE Y NOSÉ SI USTEDES ME PUDIERAN AYUDAR PARA PODER PONERLA Y ASI PODER DAR FUENTES DE TRABAJO Y MI FAMILIA SALIR ADELANTE, YO VIVO EN SAN LUIS POTOSI MÉXICO, GR!AACSI!!!!

    • I remember reading Birgit's thoughts on Artemisia but it seems quite a while ago. Then again, I really have cannot place many events in their proper time.

  2. Your blouse turned out really cute! I really need to get a couple Deer and Doe patterns. I love every version of them I see!

    • Thank you very much Megan! And they’re a great investment those patterns, and I can’t stop talking about how they’re printed on actual paper!

      • I didn't know for sure, but had assumed that the selicsufff-iency numbers were based on calories, as that is what matters in times of crisis. I would like to know if they consider seafood that Japanese ships harvest from the South Pacific is counted as domestic production. If there's a serious crisis, or the globalization model falls apart, the fuel probably wouldn't be available for such fishing.

Tell me what you think!

