Hawthorn Sew-Along

comment 1
Colette / in-progress

250613hawthorn

Hey!  Look what arrived in the mail today!  Thanks to Sew Squirrel for super fast shipping – I placed the order in last week.  My Hawthorn arrived time for me to join the…

Hawthorn Dress Sewalong

Hawthorn Sew-Along hosted by Colette Patterns!  It’s my first sew-along and i’m really excited.  It’s great timing because i’m really bad at pacing myself with sewing – my sewing schedule is always just to sew a lot in one go and finish something, something I don’t think i’ll be able to do while working.  A sew-along forces me to follow a schedule which looks managable.

250613hawthorn2

This is the first time I worked with a printed Colette pattern – my Laurel dress was a pdf version.  Colette patterns are printed on white tissue paper which for some reason I really struggled with tracing.  I found it difficult to see the navy on white and preferred black on beige tissue. No idea why, because in theory white and navy should be easier to see.

250613hawthorn3

And I really struggled with the lines and notches too.  I think I may be just spoilt by thick paper patterns in sewing books.

250613hawthorn4

And this is how I felt after I traced it all.

I’ve started a Pinterest board for Hawthorn inspiration as well because I have no idea how i’m going to make this dress as of yet.  We’ll see!

1 Comment

Tell me what you think!

