“Handkerchief Hem Sundress E2” – Feminine Wardobe by Jinko Matsumoto

comments 8
completed / dresses / sewing books

Confession time: Animal Crossing was released on Saturday and it has completed killed off my sewing mojo.  I am now too busy hanging out with my animal buddies while making sure there are enough plants in my virtual town to ensure a 100% mayor approval rating.  Like, i’ve been sewing a Sorbetto for days now, and most people seem to agree that top only takes 3 hours from cutting to completion.  My productivity is so low.  I’m sorry guys.  I know I really should be maintaining a 100% blog approval rating, but Animal Crossing happened.

Anyway, remember when I said I finished my dress from ‘Feminine Wardrobe‘ by Jinko Matsumoto?

110613fwe21

Winter has just started where I live, it’s flippin’ freeeezing as I speak… and I made a sundress.  Haha, i’m so backwards.  Maybe I subconsciously want it to be warmer?

110613fwe24

It’s dress ‘E2’ – ‘Hankerchief Hem Sundress’.  Fun story: my mum hates this dress.  She thinks it looks like a tablecloth and was a little disturbed by me going out in the dress. Pfffffft.

110613fwe22

I had originally cut the polka dot fabric for the bodice lining, but then I decided to use it for the outside to break up the stripes a bit.  It used to be a skirt that didn’t fit me well.  Hooray for reusing stuff!  It also kind of looks lke I sewed the bodice backwards though because I used the skirt fabric to line the bodice.

110613fwe23

Word of warning: never press blue water soluble pens.  They don’t come out of the fabric if you do :(.

110613fwe29

Let’s talk about this finished dress.  First off, it’s reaaaally roomy in the bodice. It’s supposed to be as evident in both the sample and line sketches of the dress in the book, but it may take some getting used to if you’re used to darts and fitted fabric.  The roomy bodice is actually comfy though: it doesn’t feel like anything is going to slip or fall off.

Sewing this was pretty easy and only took a few hours. The directions in the book are not super-duper clear though – like sometimes they’ll just say ‘finish blah’ and you’re like ‘how do I finish blah exactly?’.  If you have some sewing experience you’ll be able to figure it out, but if you’re a beginner you may struggle, especially with sewing the bodice lining.

Overall I really like this dress and i’m probably going to make another one even if my mum thinks it’s a big tablecloth. “I just really want to chop off the sides!” she keeps saying to me.

8 Comments

  1. Awh gosh, your intro totally reminded me of my former Animal Crossing obsession! I used to have the original Nintendo DS and Wii version and play constantly while procrastinating other more important tasks that, ahem, really paled out in comparison to getting a ‘house extension’ & painted roof! :P I really ought to dust off that game and re-start it actually…!
    Anyways, I love the dress! Particularly like how the prints contrast, and well done on the up-cycling as well :)
    Amelia xx

    • Yay someone who can relate! I’m so into the bug catching now it’s ridiculous… like I think i’ve only played for 5 minutes but turns out i’ve been playing for 50! Are you not planning to get a 3DS for the new one? I think it’s the best one so far, and you get to be mayor… perhaps I can tempt you :P?

      • Hahaha I know right! The time always jumps on with these things :P do you know there’s actually a 3DS I could get a semi-permanent lend of… that sorts it I suppose! It’d be brilliant to have that feature! As soon as I get my hands on it I’ll let you know, we’ll have to compare notes xD

  2. Thanks for your lovely comments about my cushion. This dress is gorgeous, I love the fabrics together, don’t listen to your mum…mine would say exactly the same!!

  3. An impressive reveal, I just given this onto the colleague who was doing a tiny analysis with this. And he actually bought myself breakfast because I found it for him.. look. So i want to reword that will: Thnx for the take care of! But yeah Thnkx for shelling out the time to discuss this, Personally i think strongly regarding it and adore reading more about this topic. If possible, as you get expertise, do you mind modernizing your blog with more details? It can be highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this article!

Tell me what you think!

