Sewing Tip – Glue Sticks

comments 9
sewing tips
110613fwe27

Thanks, LSP!

I’ve just finished a dress from Feminine Wardrobe but i’m going to wait for a sunny day before the big reveal so I can take some nice photos.

Until then, i’m going to reflect on how useful the humble glue stick was to my sewing.  My favourite uses, in descending order of favouritism:

1. Use it to glue your selvedges together!

110613fwe28

Poor bear’s arms are too short, but he’s trying!

I use a glue stick to stick fabric selvedges together prior to cutting.  It’s so much easier than pinning the fabric, and I rarely cut up to the selvedge so it’s ok if the selvedge is a little gummy.  Makes cutting on the fold so much easier.

2. Use it to fix bias tape/ribbon/pockets/whatever before hand sewing!

Nothing is more annoying than bias tape shifting all over the place when you’re trying to catchstitch it on.  The human body just doesn’t enough hands to hold tape in place and sew at the same time.  Nevermind though, the humble glue stick can help!

3. Use it for basting!

I sometimes use a glue stick to stick something down temporarily instead of using pins because I am a very lazy person.  It’s quick and dirty and very useful.  I’ve also found that it washes right out most of the time.  Remember to test it because not all fabrics agree with glue sticks, and not all fabrics stick.  I usually use it on light/medium weight cotton.

4. Use it to stick tracing paper together!

110613fwe26Yeah this one was a bit obvious.

9 Comments

  1. Cute toys! You may think the last point is obvious but it never occured to me…that’s prob cos I’m a bit slow, thanks for the tips!

    • You’re welcome! I don’t actually like gluing my tracing paper together to be honest, I prefer double sided tape. But tape is so expensive! Glue makes the edges of my paper curl and I hate it.

  2. I the last photo with LDP rolling the paper made me laugh! I sometimes use glue to stick things down where any sewing (even hand sewing) would show through and ruin the look of the garment. I put glue on the area I want to stick down and gently press it with the iron and it works like a charm!

    • I never thought to iron it down, that sounds really awesome! I’m spending a fortune on fusible web right now to do what you’re doing, so i’m going to go try it out right now.

      Hehe that photo makes me laugh too :).

  3. When I originally commented I clicked the &#otf0;N82i2y me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Appreciate it!

Tell me what you think!

