Self-drafted Boatneck T-shirt

comments 12
completed / self-drafted / Sewing

I am an easily scared person and I take very little risks in life.  Apparently when I was a baby my parents never needed to block the stairs off because I wouldn’t go anywhere near the stairs.  My idea of a risk is to not let the kettle completely boil before making tea sometimes if i’m impatient – I might end up with weak-ish tea!  It’s a real risk!

So, sewing with a knit fabric from a self-drafted pattern is pretty much the equivalent of sewing sky-diving for me… sort of.  Like, very well informed, planned out sky-diving over many days.  I don’t know, I think this analogy is falling a little flat.

Anyway behold my metaphorical sky-diving result:

Boatneck T-shirt

It’s beautiful and ohhhhhh-sooo-comfy.  I’ve lived in this shirt for three days in a row.  It’s so flattering and I have running out of words to describe my love for this shirt.  I also loved sewing with knit!  My pattern was not completely correct for fit but knit fabric just sort of fits itself and compensates.  Anything that can do its own fitting is a godsend in my opinion.

290513boatt3

However, getting neat, professional looking seams is a problem.  I used a double needle which seems to be the preferred way to finish a seam but my machine was not made for double needles and there were serious tension issues going on with the second thread.  Lots of thread snapping.  Boooo.  Then I decided to use the stretch stitch function on my machine which is supposed to mimic a straight stitch, but I found it to look messy.  Double boooooo.  I haven’t really found any good options for hemming, so I think I may just hem with zigzag.  A good, neat zigzag is better than a messy stretch stitch in my opinion.

Overall though I found sewing knits to be a really great experience.  It’s really just like sewing with woven fabric but with zigzag instead of a straight stitch.  I think my machine deserves a lot of credit too though because it really just sewed the fabric itself – feeding it was so effortless.

Machine!

“You’re welcome!’

So good job, sewing machine! Pat pat on the back!

 

12 Comments

  1. Great top I love this style. Also … I’ve nominated you for a Wonderful Team Member Readership Award (great name hey!) I’ve put a link to your blog on my post, don’t feel obliged to accept! Amy

  2. You know with the Renfrew she used tube at the cuffs and bottom, it was a nice way to dodge a twin needle.

    From a distance, no one is going to notice and RTW has it’s own thread issues from time to time. I think it suits your frame very well.

    • Thank you very much :). I knew about using a tube to finish but I liked the look of a twin needle. I’m a bit bummed that it didn’t work out.

  3. I got this fabric for a dress for my daughter last winter (must sew it up this winter, and see if there is some leftover for me!). Also – lumpy space princess!

    • Lump yes! I loved this fabric, there was a green/blue colourway where I lived and I am really sad that I didn’t get it at the time…

  4. that shirt looks great! Love the shape and the fabric! Everyone needs a boatneck knit shirt! :D
    I don’t really like sewing knit fabric… but that was with the previous sewing machine and I haven’t tried it with the new one yet so hopefully it’ll go better!

    • Thank you! I used to not like sewing knits but you should try it again, it’s so much easier to fit.

Tell me what you think!

