Clay twist donut/french cruller tutorial

comments 6
sweets deco tutes / Sweets Deco/Clay Miniatures / Uncategorized

The cruller is the one on the far right.

I really don’t know what this thing is called. I suspect that it used to be a French cruller but as Japanese clay artisans recreated it the shape started changing as everyone created their clay items from a picture of someone’s work. Kind of like a game of Chinese whispers, but with clay and the shape of a French cruller. Anyway this thing took me a very long time to get figure out! This requires a bit of practice and it’s hard for me to capture the steps in pictures, so don’t be discouraged if you can’t seem to get it right the first few times. I suggest you read through the tutorial first before attempting because some steps might make sense in light of later steps. Ask any questions if you have any.

1. Make a fat disk of dough shaped clay and poke a hole through it. Use something with a rough texture and press imprints onto the clay to make it look ‘crumb-y’ like bread. Here I am using a pumice stone.

2. Using a toothpick, make light, evenly spaced indents around the outside of the donut. This is to mark out where the ‘twists’ will go.

3. This is an example of the type of indents i’m talking about. You should make indents than I have though, crullers tend to have more twists than I made here.

4. This part is really hard for me to explain. Taking your toothpick, make indents starting from where you’ve marked to the center. Try to curve the indents – don’t make them go straight into the center. Look at the picture for reference. After you’ve finished this poke the center again to make the hole round again.

5. Brown your donut and let it dry (if using polymer clay, bake it).

6. After baking, paint a part with acrylic clay to look like it was iced/dipped in chocolate. I find it easier to paint one indent, then two indents, and stop when you think your cruller has been dipped enough in chocolate. Let dry, then glaze the chocolate part with acrylic glaze.

6 Comments

  1. You said that you ‘bake’ the donut before painting. You mean you bake the air dry clay?
    Can we bake that?
    If yes, then how? What is the temp?
    Sorry I have too many questions.
    I am a newbie but I love clay art a lot and love your site a lot!

    • Oh no that’s ok! But NOO DO NOT BAKE AIR DRY CLAY! Lol I don’t want to be responsible for blowing up your oven! Just let your donut dry and then paint it :). Sorry I should’ve written somewhere that most of my tutorials are for polymer clay which doesn’t harden until you bake it, i’ll make a note of it now. Thanks for coming to read my blog by the way :).

      • haha is ok then
        So meaning if I use air dry clay, I can direct paint the color on it once it harden right?

        Thanks for the explanation anyway
        Looking forward for more tutorials.. I love vegetables and fruits..
        Can teach us how to do sweet corn, cabbage, potatoes and etc?

      • Yep you can paint air dry clay with acrylic paint.

        As for teaching vegetables… I have to admit I don’t know how to make them. I’m really sorry! I’m only good at sweets, anything else and I have no idea. I’m really, really sorry!

Tell me what you think!

