Dough-coloured clay tutorial and donut tutorial

comments 7
sweets deco tutes / Sweets Deco/Clay Miniatures / Uncategorized

What colour is biscuit and pastry dough? It never occurred to me how odd the colour was until I tried to mix a colour to look like it! When I finally mixed a colour that was dough coloured I may have cried with happiness.

I know that Premo brand polymer clay has a colour called Ecru which is really close to dough colour already, but I live in a very craft-unfriendly city where I can only get limited colours of Fimo and a reasonable range of Sculpey III. If you’re lucky enough to have access to Premo clay I say use it, it sounds like the most heavenly clay to work with. Sculpey III is very soft and very mushy which is actually quite hard to work with for intricate detail, but beggars can’t be choosers. Anyway today I’ll show you how to mix the colour and make an easy donut out of it.

Mixing the dough-coloured clay

Note the ratios of clay shown in the picture are NOT in the exact ratio that I mix them. I use a very scientific method of mixing clay called ‘trial and error’ where I just add very small amounts of one colour and stop when it looks right. For this amount of beige clay I ended up using only about half the amount of yellow shown in the picture, and something like a third of the orange.

Add small parts of yellow to the beige until it starts looking like very raw dough.  Then add the smallest amount of orange (you’ll be surprised at the impact a small amount of dark colour can make!) until it starts looking more dough like. The result should look like this:

I used to add brown to try to make it darker from mixing yellow + beige but it made the colour very muddy and disgusting. Turns out orange was the colour I needed – I was so surprised.

Making a  chocolate- icing donut:

1. Take a small amount of dough coloured clay and roll into a circle. Flatten it into a fat disk like shown in the previous photo.

2. Take a very small amount of chocolate coloured clay and roll it into a very thin circle. To roll it into a circle turn the clay after you roll once to even out the sides (… that probably didn’t make sense at all).  Take care not to rip the clay when you take it off the roller – I accidentally ripped the top right as you can see.

3. Place your icing disk on the top of your pastry disk.

4. Poke a hole in the middle of your donut. I used a Sculpey moulding tool here but I’m sure a round pencil will do.

5. The bottom will look like this. If you don’t mind the bottom looking a bit smeared with ‘chocolate’ then just flatten it out whichever way. If you do care and you want your bottom to look dough coloured, then you’ll have to push the dough back into the hole. To do this, flatten the sides of the hole inwards with your finger, and use the pencil/tool to make a hole through that.

6. Voila, a donut! This one is unbaked as of yet, but once you bake it the finish will be matte. You will need to glaze the icing to make it shiny like real icing. If you plan on putting sprinkles or striped icing on your donut, don’t bake yet!

Glazing a donut

1. You’ll need a small paintbrush and some glaze that is suitable for polymer clay. The one i’m using is artist’s glaze for acrylic paints which i’ve heard is safe for polymer clay.

2. And you just paint the glaze into the icing part of your donut. Let dry…

… and you’ve got yourself a shiny donut! Click here for how to decorate your new shiny donut.

7 Comments

  1. Pingback: Two clay donut tutorials – striped icing and sprinkles « Hikaria

  2. Pingback: Clay pie tutorial « Hikaria

  3. Pingback: Clay tart tutorial « Hikaria

  4. Jess says

    Sorry, you’ve probably already said this but when do you put the eye pin in so you can hang it? I’m assuming before you bake it…Unless you make a hole and glue it in later :S aaaaaa help!!

    • Hey i’m really sorry for the late reply, i’m currently overseas so I have not had internet access for the past week. I will do a tutorial on eyepins when I get back. I’ll give you a quick answer for now though. Assuming you’re using the eyepins that are smooth and straight with an ‘eye’ on top, what you do is you trim your pin so that when you stick it into the donut it won’t go through the hole in the middle. Trim short with pliers. Then, slightly curve your pin with your pliers and then insert it into your unbaked donut, then bake them. I’m not sure if I make much sense here because it’s really hard to explain without pictures, but i’ll do a tute when I get back :).

Tell me what you think!

